Dividend policy depends upon the nature of the firm, type of shareholder and profitable
position. On the basis of the dividend declaration by the firm, the dividend policy may be
classified under the following types:
• Regular dividend policy
• Stable dividend policy
• Irregular dividend policy
• No dividend policy.
Regular Dividend Policy
Dividend payable at the usual rate is called as regular dividend policy. This type of policy is
suitable to the small investors, retired persons and others.
Stable Dividend Policy
Stable dividend policy means payment of certain minimum amount of dividend regularly.
This dividend policy consists of the following three important forms:
Constant dividend per share

Constant payout ratio
Stable rupee dividend plus extra dividend.
Irregular Dividend Policy
When the companies are facing constraints of earnings and unsuccessful business operation,
they may follow irregular dividend policy. It is one of the temporary arrangements to meet
the financial problems. These types are having adequate profit. For others no dividend is
No Dividend Policy
Sometimes the company may follow no dividend policy because of its unfavourable working
capital position of the amount required for future growth of the concerns.